Careum Foundation

Home / Careum Foundation
 

Thinking about the future of health and care

Today, the health sector is in a historically unprecedented phase of change and is faced with enormous challenges. Increasingly, the health community is globally linked, meaning that the traditional boundaries between disciplines, professions, institutions and countries are being redrawn. Similarly, the relationship between the range of medical services and citizens, market and regulation, doctor and patient and between service provider and consumer is being redefined. New approaches and models for strategies in the health sector must take into account all the challenges arising in the areas of basic and advanced training, market systems, socio-economic developments and new technologies and research, if they are to make a relevant contribution to the health systems of the future.

In the future, Careum will continue to demonstrate how these trends can be converted into specific education policy projects. The aim is to provide relevant inspiration and to develop approaches as to how the future of health and care, and particularly education in the health sector, can be dealt with and how an active contribution can be made to help shape these areas.

Website Careum Foundation

 

Management Committee

Hans Gut
President

Hans Gut is President of the Careum Foundation, an institution known both in Switzerland and abroad for promoting education in the healthcare sector. He is chairman of Haco Holding AG, Gümligen and acts as board member to several other companies and foundations. Hans Gut received a MS in mechanical engineering from the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Zurich, and a MS in management from the Stanford University, USA.

   

Ilona Kickbusch
Board of Trustees and Member of Management Committee

Ilona Kickbusch is a Member of the Management Committee of the Careum Foundation and Director of the Global Health Programme, Graduate Institute for International and Development Studies, Geneva. During her long association with the World Health Organisation she has had influence on European and international health politics, especially in the health promotion sector. She worked as a Professor at Yale University and as Director of a Fulbright programme for global health. She is on the advisory board of important organisations, foundations and scientific publications and publishes a lot. She advises many national and international organisations, among them, the Swiss Federal Health Office.

   

René Kühne
Board of Trustees and Member of Management Committee

Since 2002 René Kühne is a member of the Board and of the Management Committee of the Careum Foundation. He works mainly as an independent adviser for projects and questions concerning the health sector in Switzerland and Europe and is a member of various governing bodies and foundations. In international and national projects he has acquired a profound knowledge on health systems. From 1986 to 2002 he held different management positions at the Klinik Hirslanden where he played a substantial role in the building and extension of the private hospital group Hirslanden. He received his doctorate of economics at the Institute for Economical Research at the University of Zurich.

   

Beat Sottas
Board of Trustees and Member of Management Committee

Beat Sottas is a member of the Board and of the Executive Committee of the Careum Foundation. Among other tasks he is in charge of a bi-national mentoring programme for junior managers in the health sector. Since 2008 he has been an independent consultant for national regulatory agencies, teaching institutions and private enterprises. After several years of teaching, Beat Sottas completed further studies at the University of Fribourg, Switzerland with a doctorate in social sciences. Following ten years as a research fellow at the University of Berne he worked in the Swiss Federal Administration for twelve years, where he was responsible for educational policy in the medical professions.

 

Contact

Scientific Secretariat

Careum Foundation
+41 43 222 50 00
congress@careum.ch

Careum Stiftung

Home / Careum Stiftung
 

Die Gesundheitswelt der Zukunft denken

Heute befindet sich das Gesundheitswesen in einer historischen Umbruchsituation und steht vor grossen Herausforderungen. Die Gesundheitsgesellschaft ist zunehmend global vernetzt, was dazu führt, dass die traditionellen Grenzen zwischen Disziplinen und Berufen, Institutionen und Ländern verschoben werden. Ebenso wird das Verhältnis zwischen Leistungsangebot und Bürger, Markt und Regulierung, Arzt und Patient, Dienstleister und Konsument neu definiert. Neue Ansätze und Modelle für Strategien im Gesundheitswesen müssen all diesen Herausforderungen des Aus- und Weiterbildungsbereichs, der Marktsysteme, der sozioökonomischen Entwicklungen und neuer Technologien und Forschung Rechnung tragen, um einen relevanten Beitrag für die Zukunft leisten zu können.

Careum will auch in Zukunft aufzeigen, wie sich diese Trends in konkrete bildungspolitische Vorhaben umsetzen lassen. Ziel ist es, relevante Impulse zu geben und Lösungsansätze zu erarbeiten, wie mit der zukünftigen Welt der Gesundheit und insbesondere der Bildung im Gesundheitswesen umgegangen und wie diese Welt aktiv mitgestaltet werden kann.

Webseite Careum Stiftung

 

Leitender Ausschuss

Hans Gut
Präsident

Hans Gut ist Präsident der Careum Stiftung, eine Institution, welche national und international die Bildung im Gesundheitswesen fördert. Zudem ist er Präsident der Haco Holding AG, Gümligen und Mitglied des Verwaltungsrates verschiedener weiterer Unternehmen und Stiftungen. Er hat einen MS in Mechanical Engineering der ETH Zürich und einen MS in Management der Stanford University, Palo Alto.

   

Ilona Kickbusch
Stiftungsrat und Mitglied Leitender Ausschuss

Ilona Kickbusch ist Mitglied des Leitenden Ausschusses der Careum Stiftung und Direktorin des Global Health Programme, Graduate Institute for International and Development Studies, Genf. Sie prägte während ihrer langjährigen Tätigkeit bei der WHO die europäische und internationale Gesundheitspolitik, besonders im Bereich Gesundheitsförderung. Sie war Professorin an der Yale University und Leiterin eines Fulbright Programms zur globalen Gesundheit. Sie ist im Beirat wichtiger Organisationen, Stiftungen und Fachpublikationen und publiziert ausgiebig. Sie berät eine Vielzahl von nationalen und internationalen Organisationen, so auch das Schweizer Bundesamt für Gesundheit.

   

René Kühne
Stiftungsrat und Mitglied Leitender Ausschuss

Rene Kühne ist seit 2002 Mitglied des Stiftungsrates und des Leitenden Ausschusses der Stiftung Careum. Er wirkt vor allem als selbstständiger Berater in Projekten und Fragestellungen im Gesundheitswesen in der Schweiz und in Europa und ist Mitglied in verschiedenen Verwaltungsräten und Stiftungen. In internationalen und nationalen Projekten eignete er sich ein profundes Wissen über Gesundheitssysteme an. Von 1986 bis 2002 bekleidete er verschiedene Managementpositionen in der Klinik Hirslanden und wirkte massgeblich beim Auf- und Ausbau der Privatspitalgruppe Hirslanden mit. Er erwarb am Institut für betriebswirtschaftliche Forschung der Universität Zürich den Doktortitel in Ökonomie.

   

Beat Sottas
Stiftungsrat und Mitglied Leitender Ausschuss

Beat Sottas ist Stiftungsrat von Careum und Mitglied des Leitenden Ausschusses, wo er unter anderem ein binationales Mentoringprogramm für Nachwuchs-Führungskräfte in der Gesundheitswirtschaft leitet. Seit Anfang 2008 unterstützt er als selbstständiger Berater nationale Regulatoren, Bildungsstätten und Unternehmen der Privatwirtschaft. Nach mehreren Jahren des Unterrichtens schloss er an der Universität Freiburg (Schweiz) das Zweitstudium mit einem Doktorat in Sozialwissenschaften ab. Nach rund zehn Jahren Forschung und Lehre an der Universität Bern wechselte er in die Bundesverwaltung, wo er mehrere Jahre für die Bildungspolitik der universitären Medizinalberufe zuständig war.

 

Kontakt

Wissenschaftliches Sekretariat
Careum Stiftung
+41 43 222 50 00
congress@careum.ch